Get ExpressVPN on Android.
Want ExpressVPN on your Android?
Get the App for Android
Contact the ExpressVPN support team if you're stuck.
Stuck and need some help?
Talk to a Human

Not all networks that you join, especially public Wi-Fi, are secure. If you do not connect to the VPN when joining a new network, your online traffic may not be safe. The ExpressVPN Android app’s auto-connect feature allows you to automatically connect to the VPN when joining a network. This keeps your traffic protected as you use the internet on your device.

VPN connected because you joined an untrusted network.

By default, the auto-connect feature is disabled. When enabled, auto-connect marks any networks you join as “untrusted” to give you full VPN protection. You will:

  • Automatically connect to the VPN when joining an “untrusted” network
  • Remain connected when switching to another “untrusted” network
  • Remain connected when joining a network you have marked as “trusted”

Note: If you do not want to use the VPN when joining a network you trust (e.g., your home network), you can mark the network as “trusted” in the app settings and disable the VPN for “trusted” networks.

Jump to…

Enable auto-connect
Mark networks as “trusted” (or “untrusted”)
Disconnect the VPN when joining a trusted network
Disable auto-connect

Enable auto-connect

  1. In the ExpressVPN Android app, tap Menu icon.(For app v10.16.0, tap Options.)
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Auto-connect.
  4. Toggle When joining networks not listed as trusted on.
    Toggle “When joining networks not listed as trusted” on.

Android 10 and above require location permissions to allow detection of untrusted networks. If you are on Android 10 or above, you will be asked to give permission to the app to be able to use the auto-connect feature.

  1. In the Permissions Required screen, tap OK.
    In the “Permissions Required” screen, tap “OK.”
  2. In the Permissions Required prompt, tap OPEN SETTINGS.
  3. Tap Permissions.
  4. Tap Location.
  5. Tap Allow all the time.
    In the “Permissions Required” screen, tap “Allow all the time.”

Mark networks as “trusted” (or untrusted)

You can mark networks as “trusted” or “untrusted” after enabling auto-connect.

  1. In the ExpressVPN Android app, tap Menu icon.(For app v10.16.0, tap Options.)
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Auto-connect.
  4. Your active networks will appear under Current Networks. By default, they are marked as “untrusted.” To mark them as “trusted,” tap Add icon..
    Tap the “Add” button.

If you want to mark them as “untrusted” in the future, next to the network that appears under Trusted Networks, tap Remove icon..

You can also disable auto-connect when joining a “trusted” network.

Disconnect the VPN when joining a trusted network

When auto-connect is activated, you remain connected to the VPN when joining a “trusted” network.

If you do not want to use a VPN on a “trusted” network:

  1. In the ExpressVPN Android app, tap Menu icon.(For app v10.16.0, tap Options.)
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Auto-connect.
  4. Toggle Disconnect when joining a trusted network on.
    Toggle “Disconnect when joining a trusted network” on.

Need help? Contact the ExpressVPN Support Team for immediate assistance.

Back to top


Disable auto-connect

  1. In the ExpressVPN Android app, tap Menu icon.(For app v10.16.0, tap Options.)
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Auto-connect.
  4. Toggle When joining networks not listed as trusted off.

Need help? Contact the ExpressVPN Support Team for immediate assistance.

Back to top

Was this article helpful?

We're sorry to hear that. Let us know how we can improve.

A member of our Support Team will follow up on your issue.